#3 Climate change and environmental degradation

22 June 2021, 6:00 pm

Cesar Garavito (NYU School of Law), Arpitha Kodiveri (European University Institute), Luisa Neubauer (Fridays for Future) and Miriam Saage-Maaß (ECCHR Business and Human Rights program director) will talk about human rights’ potential to fight climate change and environmental degradation.

The ongoing climate crisis has dramatic consequences for our planet. One of the main causes of climate change and environmental degradation is the capitalist economic system, which also reinforces social, racial and gender inequalities. Technological developments cannot be the only solution to address this crisis. We need to fundamentally rethink our societies and economic models.

At this event, our guests will discuss the role human rights can play in an equitable transformation. Human rights can help affected communities and others achieve their demands for sustainable climate policies. They can also force governments and businesses to connect environmental concerns and social justice. Do we also need new human rights approaches to do this? What is the relationship between human rights and environmental rights? And who bears the ultimate legal responsibility for the climate crisis? Join the discussion.

The event will be streamed live on our website. Times: 6 pm Berlin, 12 pm New York, 11 am Mexico City, 12 am Hong Kong

Rupture and reckoning: 20 years of Guantánamo

11 September 2021, 3:00 pm

An interdisciplinary event series reflecting on the legacy of the notorious detention camp and US counter-terrorism policy two decades after 9/11

Exactly four months after the 11 September 2001…

Human rights in times of crises: Resistance and concrete utopias

22 September 2021, 6:00 pm

Event series, May – November 2021

Human rights are a concrete utopia worth defending. But how to defend them needs to be constantly reinvented. As we find ourselves in a time of profound, global…

Archive

read more