#2 Corporate power, the role of law and human rights

2 June 2021, 6:00 pm

Human rights in times of crises: Resistance and concrete utopias

Katharina Pistor (author, Columbia Law School) will speak with Johan Horst (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin) and Miriam Saage-Maaß (ECCHR program director Business and Human Rights) about how corporate power and law are intertwined.

Law not only organizes and secures economic profits, it is a crucial factor in creating wealth. Our guests will explore how economic and financial law are important factors in creating corporate power, and our legal and political options  to restrict this dynamic of growing corporate wealth and power. Can human rights, especially economic and social rights, play a role in insuring our societies become more equitable?

The event will be live-streamed on our website. Times: 6 pm Berlin, 12 pm New York, 11 am Mexico City, 12 am Hong Kong

Rupture and reckoning: 20 years of Guantánamo

11 September 2021, 3:00 pm

An interdisciplinary event series reflecting on the legacy of the notorious detention camp and US counter-terrorism policy two decades after 9/11

Exactly four months after the 11 September 2001…

Human rights in times of crises: Resistance and concrete utopias

22 September 2021, 6:00 pm

Event series, May – November 2021

Human rights are a concrete utopia worth defending. But how to defend them needs to be constantly reinvented. As we find ourselves in a time of profound, global…

Archive

read more