• Press
  • Newsletter
Lotte Leicht

Lotte Leicht

Council Chairwoman

Lotte Leicht is Human Rights Watch’s EU Advocacy Director and Director of the organization’s Brussels office where she has been responsible for strategic advocacy vis-à-vis European governments, the European Union and other international and regional inter-governmental organizations since 1994. She has conducted numerous investigations into and written reports about human rights and humanitarian law violations in conflict zones around the world. Leicht has published articles in various newspapers and magazines. She coedited the book Monitoring Human Rights in Europe: Comparing International Standards and Mechanisms. In addition, she teaches international humanitarian law and is a member of several advisory boards such as the Advisory Board of the European Inter-University Centre for Human Rights and Democratisation, and the Advisory Board of the North-South Committee of the Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung in Berlin. 

About us

  • Who we are
  • What motivates us
  • How we work
  • Which tools we use
  • 10 Years ECCHR
  • Critical Legal Training
  • Funding
  • Partner lawyers
  • Work with us


  • Wolfgang Kaleck
  • Miriam Saage-Maaß
  • Albert Koncsek
  • Andreas Schüller
  • Cannelle Lavite
  • Christian Schliemann-Radbruch
  • Karina Theurer
  • Maria Bause
  • Thomas Babyesiza
  • Marie Badarne
  • Michael Bader
  • Arne Bardelle
  • Yossi Bartal
  • Abby d’Arcy
  • Laura Duarte Reyes
  • Rieke Ernst
  • Judith Hackmack
  • Hanaa Hakiki
  • Natalie Hauser
  • Sönke Hilbrans
  • Sarah Imani
  • Arite Keller
  • Antonia Klein
  • Patrick Kroker
  • Claudia Müller-Hoff
  • Delphine Rodrik
  • Silvia Rojas-Castro
  • Anne Schroeter
  • Eva Seeliger
  • Matthias Tasser
  • Claire Tixeire
  • Michelle Trimborn
  • Allison West
  • Nicolina Zimmermann


  • Carsten Gericke
  • Chantal Meloni
  • Ben Vanpeperstraete

Research Fellows

  • Ibrahim al-Kasem
  • Alev Erhan
  • Joumana Seif
  • Xuchen Zhang


  • Lotte Leicht
  • Tobias Singelnstein
  • Dieter Hummel

Emeritus advisory board

  • Theo van Boven
  • Peter Weiss

Advisory Board

  • Alejandra Ancheita
  • Priya Basil
  • Markus N. Beeko
  • Reed Brody
  • Andrea Bührmann
  • Joshua Castellino
  • Gastón Chillier
  • Colin Gonsalves
  • Florian Jeßberger
  • Bonita Meyersfeld
  • Manfred Nowak
  • Jennifer Robinson
  • Ole von Uexküll
  • Vince Warren

In Memoriam

  • Michael Ratner
  • Simon Rau