Geneva Conventions

The four Geneva Conventions of 1949 form the basis of International Humanitarian Law. These laws protect persons who are not or no longer involved in hostilities. This includes civilians, prisoners of war and wounded and sick soldiers. 196 states have signed up to the Geneva Conventions to date.


Torture in Guantánamo: Spain closes investigations into "Bush Six"


In March 2009, ECCHR partner lawyer Gonzalo Boye filed a criminal complaint against six former US officials of the Bush administration regarding their accountability for violations of international law, including war crimes and torture. The US officials became known as the "Bush Six."