• Press
  • Newsletter
Ibrahim al-Kasem

Ibrahim al-Kasem

International Crimes and Accountability

Ibrahim al-Kasem graduated in law at the University of Damascus, Syria, and is executive director of the Caesar Files Group. As a lawyer, he focused on cases to support detainees before the Syrian terrorism court. He worked as legal consultant to the UN with a focus on the Middle East and North Africa, and for the Raoul Wallenberg Institute of Human Rights and Humanitarian Law. He finished his human rights master’s program at Bard College Berlin and is currently enrolled in the Central European University’s master’s program for human rights in Austria. After completing a legal traineeship in 2016, he has been supporting ECCHR as a research fellow in the International Crimes and Accountability program, with a particular focus on war crimes in Syria.

Quiénes somos

  • Quienes somos
  • Cómo trabajamos
  • Financing
  • Partner lawyers


  • Wolfgang Kaleck
  • Miriam Saage-Maaß
  • Andreas Schüller
  • Karina Theurer
  • Corina Ajder
  • Marie Badarne
  • Michael Bader
  • Maria Bause
  • Abby d’Arcy
  • Laura Duarte
  • Rieke Ernst
  • Judith Hackmack
  • Hanaa Hakiki
  • Sönke Hilbrans
  • Sarah Imani
  • Arite Keller
  • Antonia Klein
  • Albert Koncsek
  • Patrick Kroker
  • Cannelle Lavite
  • Claudia Müller-Hoff
  • Christian Schliemann
  • Anne Schroeter
  • Eva Seeliger
  • Yaroslavna Sychenkova
  • Matthias Tasser
  • Claire Tixeire
  • Michelle Trimborn
  • Matija Vlatković
  • Allison West
  • Nicolina Zimmermann


  • Carsten Gericke
  • Chantal Meloni
  • Ben Vanpeperstraete

Research Fellows

  • Ibrahim al-Kasem
  • Silvia Rojas-Castro
  • Joumana Seif

Consejo directivo

  • Lotte Leicht
  • Tobias Singelnstein
  • Dieter Hummel

Emeritus advisory board

  • Theo van Boven
  • Peter Weiss

Consejo consultivo

  • Alejandra Ancheita
  • Priya Basil
  • Markus N. Beeko
  • Reed Brody
  • Andrea Bührmann
  • Joshua Castellino
  • Gastón Chillier
  • Colin Gonsalves
  • Florian Jeßberger
  • Bonita Meyersfeld
  • Manfred Nowak
  • Jennifer Robinson
  • Annemie Schaus
  • Ole von Uexküll
  • Vince Warren

In Memoriam

  • Michael Ratner
  • Simon Rau